a collection celebrating creativity

Making something every day DID change my life

Beth Nyland

Three-and-a-half months ago, I finished a year of making things. Guided by Noah Scalin’s wonderful book, 365: A Daily Creativity Journal, I succeeded in making something new. Every single day. For an entire year.

365bookI am proud of this accomplishment. More than that, I am changed by the experience.

The tagline of Noah’s book is “Make something every day and change your life.” Life-changing results from merely making things? At the outset of this creative journey, that sounded grandiose. But I’m an optimist and a believer. And now that I’m on the other side of the work, I can vouch for his lofty claim.

When Noah asked me to explain how the project changed my life, here’s how I answered:

Practically speaking, during the 365 days, the project changed my rhythm and routine. In order to get the “making” done, other activities went by the wayside. Some were good omissions, like watching TV…

View original post 372 more words

2 responses

  1. Thanks, Jolie, for finding my words and sharing them here. Happy to be connected!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    • Jolie Buchanan

      thanks for spreading the inspiration Beth – half way through the year on the 365 project on this end; its going well, but most definitely something that needs a little lift now and then to keep the pace

      Liked by 1 person

      September 8, 2016 at 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

